Intuitive scheduling and why I practice it at work

Leanna Lee
2 min readSep 18, 2021

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how listening to my gut helps me manage my mental health (Day 5: Gut Checks).

Today, I want to talk about how I apply that same method to my work life.

When I use gut checks to help me decide when and how I work, I call it “intuitive scheduling.”

Some days, I wake up hyper and all over the place, tired, or nauseous. This usually happens when I have a big deadline looming or an extra busy day ahead.

That’s when I know I need to handle things a bit differently. Instead of working to a specific schedule, or sitting myself down and asking my gut what’s wrong, I start with this question:

“Are you ready to work?”

If the answer is no, I tell myself it’s okay and make some tea, or watch an episode of a favourite TV show before checking in again.

Sometimes, just acknowledging it is enough and I’ll end up starting work anyway. Other times, I need to initiate my emergency protocol: short, alternate bursts of work and rest until I’m done for the day.

I’ll also do this in the middle of work by asking “do I want to keep going?” to ensure I get a break when I need one. If it’s late and I’m still not finished, I slow down deliberately, telling myself I have all the time in the world.

It’s not about putting off what needs to be done, it’s about honoring my body’s need to work at its own pace.

Some of this may seem obvious (why ask yourself questions if you’re clearly anxious?) or irresponsible (how can you just not work when you’re on a deadline?).

But when your baseline is anxiety and depression, sometimes listening to and acknowledging your body is the best you can do. And it’s never failed me.

Originally published on Twitter @leannalost

--

--

Leanna Lee

Future of work and wellbeing writer-journalist and advocate. Co-host of business podcast, Bettermental. Lead writer at digital nation, Plumia.